Fonds UAA Fonds 0039 - Department of Sociology fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Department of Sociology fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

UAA Fonds 0039

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1960-1989 (Creation)
    Department of Sociology

Physical description area

Physical description

0.30 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The University of Alberta is a major Canadian centre for teaching and research in sociology and related specialties such as criminology and demography. The first official course in sociology was taught in the early 1950s, but it wasnþt until 1956 that the first full-time sociology position was approved within the Department of Philosophy and Psychology. The Department was renamed the Department of Philosophy and Sociology when the Department of Psychology split off in 1960. In the years that followed, the Department underwent several name and administrative changes. It was known as the Department of Sociology (1961-1963), the Department of Sociology and Anthropology (1963-1966), and again as the Department of Sociology since 1966. Heads: 1960-1961 Anthony Manuel Mardiros; 1961-1963 Robert James; 1963-1969 Gordon Hirabayashi. Chairs: 1969-1970 Gordon Hirabayashi; 1970-1971 John Forster; 1971-1972 Baha Abu-Laban; 1972-1975 Charles Hobart; 1975-1980 Terrence H. White; 1980-1985 Robert Silverman; 1985-1988 Gordon Fearn; 1988- Robert Silverman.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Fonds consists of records pertaining to the Department of Sociology in the Faculty of Arts at the University of Alberta.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

    Script of material

      Location of originals


      Availability of other formats

      Restrictions on access

      Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

      Finding aids

      Associated materials

      Related materials


      Alternative identifier(s)

      Standard number

      Access points

      Subject access points

      Place access points

      Name access points

      Genre access points

      Control area

      Description record identifier


      Institution identifier

      Rules or conventions


      Level of detail

      Dates of creation, revision and deletion

      Created by LMCPHERSON 11-5-2007. Updated by MMCFARLANE 3-18-2008. Updated by M.F. 8 Feb. 2022.

      Language of description

      • English

      Script of description


        Accession area